Saturday, April 10, 2021
Home NEWS Tamil Nadu Election 2021: Battle of credit for Raipuram seat DMK, AIADMK...

Tamil Nadu Election 2021: Battle of credit for Raipuram seat DMK, AIADMK captured since 2001

AIADMK’s D Jayakumar has defeated the DMK and its allies Congress candidates in four consecutive elections on this assembly seat.

DMK President MK Stalin. (File Photo)

In the Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2021, the Raipuram seat in the northern part of Chennai city has become a question of prestige for the opposition party DMK, and it is trying hard to get this seat back. The party lost this seat in 2001 and since then it has been under the control of the AIADMK. Elections for 234 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu will be held on April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

Senior AIADMK leader and state fisheries minister D Jayakumar has defeated DMK and its allies Congress candidates in this assembly seat for four consecutive elections. The DMK and Congress candidates have consistently faced embarrassing defeats from the Raipuram assembly seat.

This is the history of this seat

Jayakumar’s supporters on this seat call him ‘DJ Anna’ (elder brother). He was the DMK of the DMK in 1996. The Assembly elections were lost from Mathivanan, when there was a strong anti-incumbency against the ruling AIADMK. He registered a stunning victory from here for the first time in 1991. Subsequently, he won the 2001 election and retained his seat in 2006, 2011 and 2016.

Their election campaign is very different

His different way of campaigning draws crowds and the former Assembly Speaker, who always has a smile on his face, does not hesitate to wear a white hat. The party’s founder and former chief minister MG Ramachandran wore a similar white cap. Jayakumar also sings famous songs of Ramachandran’s films to connect with the people. Jayakumar recently surprised everyone by playing kabaddi with the youth on his way home after campaigning.

R Murti is claiming Dawa

On this seat, 54-year-old DMK candidate R Murthy is challenging him. He owns Idreams Cinemas and Idreams properties. Murthy said, “We are still facing the problems of not having proper arrangements for drinking water and drainage.” In some areas, sewer water mixes with drinking water. This needs to be corrected immediately. ”However, Jayakumar, who is contesting the seventh time from his stronghold, is also confident of winning this time. A total of 26 candidates are in the fray for the election to be held on April 6.


Also read- ‘PM bowing in PM Modi’s feet, Tamil Nadu CM does not like’ – Rahul Gandhi said in Chennai

Also read- Varanasi: 89 people were in danger due to a passenger, tried to open an emergency gate in a flight flying in the air.

Bhagyashree Soni
Bhagyashree Soni is a software engineer with soft writing skills. She is a degree holder from the International School of Entrepreneurial Leadership. She has been a state-level badminton champion and chess player. A woman with a forthright attitude enjoys her writing passion as her chosen career. Writing in the context of feminism, social-cause and entreprenurship is her forte.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Big news for insurance policy holders, IRDAI takes a big decision, know what will be the effect on you

IRDAI Guidelines: A header will be allotted to the insurance companies registering. With this, an...

Reserve Bank took a big decision in the data leak case of 11 crore people, the company may be subjected to heavy fines

If the data in the forensic audit proves breech, then MobiKwik will be fined by the...

Curefit Sacked 1000 Employees Due to Covid-19 Crisis

The effect of coronavirus (Covid-19) has started appearing on corporate India and startups. Layoffs have started in companies. After the stalled work due to...

These are the 5 safest government schemes, with full guaranteed money, you get big profits

Actually, the biggest thing about these schemes started from the government is that they have government...

Market closes on green mark in pharma and metal stocks; Adani Port also shows boom

Today, there are many ups and downs in the stock market. The market grew in...